Perdomo Lot 23 Maduro Robusto

It always feel a bit awkward posting on a new blog from scratch, but everything need a start, so here goes. This  first review looks at the Perdomo Lot 23, and specifically the Maduro Robusto stick. Perdomo,which like many other Central American cigar producer has Cuban roots,  is a well established brand in the US cigar market which is not commonly sold here in the UK. I got this cigar as part of a sampler from a US BOTL on UK Cigar Forum and I’ll be reviewing these in the next weeks. I have had a few Perdomos in the past and generally always had good experiences,  though not great. (but I haven’t tried yet the ESV or Edicion de Silvio, which should be the cream of the crop). One problem that quite a few people mention on US cigar discussion forums is that Perdomo cigars don’t burn great. In my experience that is not the case, but I’ll have a better opinion once I smoke my way through the whole lot of them.

Lot 23 is a cigar made (mainly, more about that in a moment) from tobacco grown on a single farm, not surprisingly called Lot 23 (nothing more poetic available guys?) in Esteli, Nicaragua. According to the Perdomo website all the tobaccos used to make these stogies were bale aged fo four years, rolled then aged a further six months before distribution. The Lot 23 were originally released in 4 vitolas (robusto, toro, churchill and torpedo) with an Ecuadorian wrapper holding the Lot 23 binder and filler, but later included the Maduro I am smoking today; this broadleaf wrapper is also from Nicaragua and although I couldn’t find exact informations, I suppose it might also come from Lot 23. Having dabbled in wine tasting for quite a few years (both professionally and as a hobby) I find the idea of a single farm cigar interesting; the idea is a bit like the one behind a single cru wine, where you expect the flavour of the local climate and earth to shine through, what the French masterly sum up in the word terroir. Will that shine through on this Lot 23 Maduro? Sure hope so. Let’s get smoking!

Perdomo Lot 23 Robusto Maduro

Length: 5

Ring gauge: 50

Price: around the 5$ mark in the US

Wrapper: Broadleaf Maduro (Nicaragua?)

Binder: Nicaragua, Esteli Lot 23

Filler: Nicaragua, Esteli Lot 23

Smoking Time: 60 minutes

Appearance and pre-smoke

Nice maduro wrapper, slightly toothy, chocolate-brown. It has one major fault, i.e. a rip in the wrapper leaf that seems to have been glued back on during the rolling of the cigar, as you can see in the pic left. I am not bothered too much by faults in the wrapper when they are aesthetic – after all the cigar will still smoke OK- but something like this can give burn issues and is a bit more worrying. The wrapper has a nice maduro tobacco smell, nice fermented tobacco and a touch of chocolate. Although the cigar feels quite packed it is not rocket hard.

Foot

I am disappointed at the start of this stick, the flavours are very faint, just a little chocolatey maduro tobacco hint and some spice, I wonder if maybe the draw, quite loose, has something to do with it. It’s almost as if I am smoking slightly flavoured air for the first 10 minutes or so. Burns is almost perfect but the ash hardly gets above half an inch and then drops on my lap.

Middle

Things get a lot better flavourwise and the cigar gains complexity: the main aromas are cocoa, nuts, some earth and a dusting of spice all on the typical but slightly subdued maduro sweetness. Quite smooth. The burn has a slight issue here (canoeing) but corrects itself. The ash keeps falling every few puffs, with great joy from my now grey trousers.

Head

Nice nutty and wood aromas on a maduro background towards the end. Not as complex as the middle but pleasant. Smoking characteristic stay pretty much as before. What I like is that the cigar does not go too hot until the very end.

Worth it?

Considering the premise that this is a “single farm” cigar, I cannot say that I tasted a specific terroir shine through; the flavours are not that different from those that other maduros have. So in that regard it is slightly disappointing, though I probably expected too much from a 5 bucks stick.

As a cigar in its own merit it is a decent smoke. Once the flavours pick up, this turns out to be an enjoyable and smooth medium bodied cigar which scores a decent 80 on my scale, which would be even higher if it wasn’t for the minor problems I had with it. These could make a decent everyday maduro smoke and I wouldn’t mind having  at least a 5 pack in my humi, if only to see if the problems with the ash, wrapper and especially the muted first part are an exception or not.

So to conclude: Yes, certainly worth at least a 5-pack.

‘Till the next smoke!

9 responses to “Perdomo Lot 23 Maduro Robusto

  1. This one is a great review! I really want to taste a Lot23 myself.

  2. Thank you @ngel, glad you liked the review. I’m also curious to try the original “natural” Lot 23 and see how it compares.

  3. Keep it up with the reviews! You are doing great! If I had any I’d sent you! (BTW, I am saggel from the UKCF)

  4. Hi Saggel! I’m looking to get some Lot 23 criollo sent over some time beginning of next year… If I manage that I’ll send you a couple.

  5. You are great mate! Thank you so much! I’ll return the favor 😉

  6. Wow I thought that stogie when first released was banging !
    I will send in our Pass some (5) for you to give a wirl. So U can try something off the beaten path of avaliabe cigars .

  7. Hi G-man! as I mentioned in the review, this was a single cigar so it might well be that I got one were construction wasn’t great. Also, my impression is that people seem to think the Corojo version is better… certainly one I’d give another try to as I like Perdomo’s generally.

  8. Alberto
    When U try the ones in flight do enjoy them ! The Lot 23 Is the # ONE seller and that U just got a bad stick

Leave a Reply

